THE ALGORITHM FOR TRUE FRIENDSHIP | GUEST POST BY TAMA MWALE

Hey friend, so it has been a long minute since I have been here but I am back today with a very exciting blogpost. This is a guest post by the dear Tama Mwale. She has her own blog and Instagram full of such good truth, which you have to check out. So let’s jump into it!


Hi there. I hope you are doing okay.

Don’t you wish that there was some sort of algorithm or formula that one could use to make friends? Well guess what, there isn’t one. I haven’t stumbled upon one as yet but when I do, I will be sure to let you know. In the meantime, I will just share what I have learnt in the last 4 months or so about making friends.

In my pursuit of the algorithm to make friends. I posted the question “How do we make friends on my Whatsapp status and this was one of the responses that really stood out for me.

I think initially its purely about vibes in the beginning, if you are intentionally trying to make a friend.

Sometimes life’s circumstances or just situations in general unite people.

– Anonymous

Those words are true. Sometimes life’s circumstances unite us and out of that unity friendships are born.

I was still determined to find out if there was an algorithm so I decided to question a friend. They said they did not know how to but they then went onto speak about how God planned our lives. These are his exact words:

God has already planned our lives. Before you leave your mother’s womb, God knows who your friends will be, He knows who will stay and who will go.

– Anonymous

The words of my friend reminded me of Psalm 139.

Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in Your book before one of them came to be.

– Psalm 139:16

There is unfortunately no algorithm that one can follow to make friends. But there is an important thing to draw from my quest to find an algorithm to make friends.

God ordained all your days before they came to be. So maybe right now, you’re looking at your life and wondering how on earth will I make friends? Where on earth on will I meet them? How do I know who my true friends are?

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

– Phillipians 4:6-7

As the scripture reads, do not be anxious about anything but pray about everything. 

There is no algorithm for making friends. There is no formula that one can use. What you can do pray, take a deep breatheand trust God. God has got you.


Don’t forget to check out more from Tama:

Leave a comment