ARE YOU ACTUALLY PRAYING + TALKING TO GOD?

Hey friend,

This passage (Mark 1:35-39) stuck out to me a couple of days ago and has stayed with me. Jesus was fully God and fully human. He didn’t have to go to a quiet place and get direction but He chose to, and if Jesus who is fully God and fully human chose to spend time early in the morning (before any distractions), went off to a solitary place and prayed then surely it is essential for us to do.

This morning one if the verses in my devotional was John 15:15 – “I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, FOR EVERYTHING THAT I LEARNED FROM MY FATHER I HAVE MADE KNOWN TO YOU.” Through the Bible (and the Holy Spirit) Jesus has modeled for us how to live and navigate life.

I am not a theologian or am I trying to give meaning to things that actually don’t jhave meaning but, the book of Mark is the shortest gospel in the Bible. That means that Mark wrote the most necessary things/ the things that stood out the most. In this passage the things that are mentioned are Hesus leaving by himself to go to a solitary place, very early in the morning and praying.

So getting back to what I was saying, Jesus didn’t have to set aside time to pray. He was fully God yet He still chose to. I cannot count the number of times that I have spent time with God but not actually prayed. Like you have a devotion and you read your Bible, and listen to all the worship music but the only prayer you pray is a quick two minute one. [The whole reason I wrote this devotional/ started this challenge in the first place was because of this] How can I expect to have greater intimacy with God when I’m not actually talking to Him. Yes I’m spending time in His presence and worshiping Him but I’m not truly talking to Him and having dmc’s (deep meaningful conversation) with Him.

And so this passage stood out to me because it challenged me with the question: an I praying during my quiet time and throughout the day? And not fluffy, surface level conversations but deep, honest, intentional prayers? Am I truly laying it all on the table with God and listening back to what He has to say?

And then from spending time with God in a solitary place Jesus got direction to go to nearby villages and change the course of people’s lives. I think that He was showing us how praying truly can change the direction of your life and the lives of those around you. Jesus didn’t have to model that but He chose to time and time again. Going to a quiet + solitary place, communicating and talking to God and as a result receiving strength, answers, direction and so much more.

Are you actually praying + talking to God when you spend time with Him?

Leave a comment